Pages

Sunday, April 7

Hipster Possessiveness

I wrote a post a while ago talking about how I didn't like extreme hipsters so it may seem a little bit hypocritical but it's a different situation I assure you.

This is an issue I myself have.....HIPSTER POSSESSIVENESS which hereafter shall be abbreviated as HP.

So, it's basically where you discover something cool (via the Internet....I mean who are we kidding jk) and you really like it because it's relatively small, and then somehow, either because you blabbed or it became popular, it becomes HUGE. Then, you feel somehow responsible for this, usually eliciting comments like, "I knew that first," or "I knew that about three years ago guys." I do this a lot for things that become big that I like....

Which is why I have, for now, despised the movie Pitch Perfect! I'm sure it's a great movie, just saying, by all of the positive feedback from people at my school (and my sister too).
But the reason I don't like it (for now) is because it brought all of the small stuff into the open. FOR EXAMPLE, the cup beat was a small, infinitesimal thing. I watched it in about 2009 because of HappySlip, and learned it sometime in April/May of 2012. Then Pitch Perfect came out and everyone at my school started freaking the fuck out because they knew the cup beat. Like calm yourselves. Calm your butt.

And they started doing it all over class, everywhere in school......talking like "This is so cool omg" and my only thoughts were, "I knew about that (seethe) three (seethe) years ago."

Same thing about that song by Lily Allen, F You. I hear them talking about a funny song and they hum the tune and I commented that I knew that song and I asked where they heard it (run-on sentence right?). They said "Pitch Perfect" and I died a little inside....I was obsessed with Lily Allen March 2012.... :(

So this is a pretty self-positive entry but I DON'T CARE BECAUSE ALL OF THOSE THINGS WERE MINE

No comments: